I need to close my Hotmail account. I’m getting too much spam and besides, I think it’s been hacked. I just want to close it and stop it from bothering anyone anymore. How do I do that?
I’d actually suggest that you seriously reconsider closing your account.
If your account has been hacked, even if you still have access to it, it’s quite possible that the hacker will just access it again and stop the closure. If you don’t have access … well, then you can’t close it anyway.
And even if it’s not hacked, but people are getting spam from your account, it’s not likely that closing it will help at all.
That being said, if you still want to close it, I’ll walk you through the steps; it’s not really that hard.
You must be able to login
I do have to let you know that you must be able to login to your account.
If you want to close your account because you think it has been hacked, or you can’t login to close your account, the article Email Hacked? 7 Things You Need to do NOW has the steps that you need to try to take in order to regain access to the account.
I have to say try, because once you’ve lost access to a hacked account, there is no guarantee that you can get a free email account back.
Even if you don’t want it back – you just want to close it so the hacker stops using it – the steps that you would need to take to prove ownership are exactly the same steps that would recover the account. Thus, if you can’t recover the account, you won’t be able to prove that you are authorized to close it.
Closing the account
Login to your account via Outlook.com.
Click your account name in the upper right:
Click the Account settings item:
On the following page underneath “Security & privacy” click on Change password & more:
At the bottom of the resulting page is the link that you want:
This will then take you to a page with information explaining what closing will do, and once again, ask you for your password to confirm that you are the rightful owner of the account:
Click Next to begin the process.
What it means to close your Outlook.com or Hotmail account
Read the information that is presented on that confirmation screen carefully.
Your Outlook.com or Hotmail account is your Microsoft account. When you close this account, you will lose all access to all services associated with it. You’ll lose everything that you may have placed in your SkyDrive. You’ll lose your ability to login to Skype with this account. You may even lose your ability to login to your Windows 8 PC, if this account is used for that purpose.
Make absolutely certain that this is what you want to do before you do it.
Here’s a short video that demonstrates the process: