Technology in terms you understand. Sign up for the Confident Computing newsletter for weekly solutions to make your life easier. Click here and get The Ask Leo! Guide to Staying Safe on the Internet — FREE Edition as my thank you for subscribing!

Why does Outlook ask me "Do you want to save changes?"

How do I turn off the prompt in MS Outlook 2003 that reads “Do you want to
save changes?”

This appears when I download a picture for an incoming eMail. I am glad that
Outlook gives me the option to not download pictures, but I consider that I
have already committed to the changes when I do the download. So this is
annoying.

While it can be annoying, I know of no way to turn that off globally. But
you can do so per-sender.

The real question is why is it asking in the first place? There are actually
valid reasons. And yes, there are times when you might want to answer “yes”,
and times when you might want to answer “no”.

Become a Patron of Ask Leo! and go ad-free!

We’ve all seen this message from Outlook:

Click here to display images message

Outlook displays this when it prevents pictures from being displayed in an
email message, which is the default behavior. The privacy issue that this
behavior addresses is that HTML formatted email can reference pictures that are
stored out on the internet. Because of that, merely fetching such a picture to
display it could cause the sender to know that you had viewed your mail.

Outlook lets you choose to display pictures on a per-message basis, or you
can add the sender’s email address to a “safe senders list”. Right click on the
message described above in the email message, and you’ll see this pop-up
menu:

Download pictures popup menu

  • Download Pictures causes the images referenced in the email
    to be retrieved from the internet, and displayed.

  • Change Automatic Download Settings… brings up this
    dialog:

    Automatic Picture Download Settings Dialog

    which allows you to control when, and how, Outlook automatically downloads
    pictures.

  • Add Sender to Safe Senders List adds the email address of
    the sender of the email to a list of known “safe senders”, and the images for
    this message are downloaded. Images will be automatically downloaded for future
    email from senders on this list. This same list is used by the junk mail filter
    to identify senders which are known not to send spam.

  • Add the Domain @example.com to Safe Senders List adds the
    entire domain of the sender’s email address to the list of known “safe
    senders”, and downloads the pictures for this email. Future email from
    any email address on this domain will be considered safe, and pictures
    will be downloaded automatically.

“When Outlook downloads the images for an email message,
it stores them with the message.”

Now, what about this message:

Save Changes Message Box

When Outlook downloads the images for an email message, it stores them with
the message. Now, if the images were downloaded automatically, then they’re
just part of the message to begin with. On the other hand, if you open a
message where pictures have not been downloaded, and then explicitly say
“Download Pictures”, Outlook fetches those pictures, and adds them to the email
message. Technically, that changes the message. Whenever you make any change to
a message you’ve received, Outlook needs to confirm that you want to keep those
changes when you close the message.

You most often want to answer “yes”. That way, the images are kept with your
message, and the next time you view the message they don’t need to be
downloaded again.

You might want to answer “no” to save space, for example. As I said, the
images are kept with the email message, and if you save the updated message
with pictures, it’s naturally much bigger than without the pictures. If you
don’t plan to view it again, or you don’t mind downloading the pictures each
time you view the message, this might be a viable alternative.

The best, and really the only way, to avoid being asked to save changes in
this case, is to add senders you trust to your safe senders list. That way
their pictures are downloaded immediately and become part of your original view
of the message. You don’t have to explicitly download the pictures causing a
“change”.

Do this:

Subscribe to Confident Computing! More confidence & less frustration -- solutions, answers, & tips -- in your inbox every week.

I'll see you there!

6 comments on “Why does Outlook ask me "Do you want to save changes?"”

  1. This article comes close to answering my question, but I get the prompt, “Do you want to save changes?” on EVERY piece of email, regardless of whether there are any “pictures” per se. This only recently started happening, after I did a repair/reinstall of Office 2003, and I suspect there is a setting somewhere that I need to change, as I did not get these infernal prompts before I did the repair. I do have Outlook set to use Word 2003 as my email editor (as I did before the repair), and all my messages are in HTML – also as before the repair. Is there something else I can look for? Would any of Microsoft’s updates or add-on “features” cause this problem? THANKS! Arnold G.

    Reply
  2. When I high lite Contacts in Outlook and Press Delete button it appears to Remove the Contact, but does not ask me to Save.

    As after going thru complete contact list, when I check back, all my contacts that I thought I deleted are still there. ?? Need to do General Cleanup and Delete many contacts. Thanks

    Reply
  3. Office 2010 – File/Options/Mail/Save messages, uncheck Use Unicode format. I was getting 38 Save changes? when I closed Outlook. It began with 1 prompt about 3 weeks ago, then 2 prompts about a week ago. Thanks Guy4937

    Reply
  4. Office 2010 – File/Options/Mail/Save messages, uncheck Use Unicode format. I was getting 38 Save changes? when I closed Outlook. It began with 1 prompt about 3 weeks ago, then 2 prompts about a week ago. Thanks Guy4937

    Reply

Leave a reply:

Before commenting please:

  • Read the article.
  • Comment on the article.
  • No personal information.
  • No spam.

Comments violating those rules will be removed. Comments that don't add value will be removed, including off-topic or content-free comments, or comments that look even a little bit like spam. All comments containing links and certain keywords will be moderated before publication.

I want comments to be valuable for everyone, including those who come later and take the time to read.