How do I delete my GMail account?
Actually, if you look this up on GMail’s own on-line help system you’ll find
pretty clear instructions.
Here’s how you do it, though, with pictures.
Become a Patron of Ask Leo! and go ad-free!
Naturally you must be logged into your GMail account in order to be able to
delete it. If you can’t login you can’t delete the account; it’s that simple.
This prevents just anyone from deleting your account.
account it’s gone forever and cannot be restored.”
Click on the Settings link at the top of the GMail
Then click on the Accounts tab:
Part way down the resulting page in the section labeled Google
Account settings, click on the link labeled Google Account
On the resulting page is a column listing all the services that are
available to your account. Click on the Edit link at the top
of that list:
The resulting page lists your options:
Click on the link that matches what you’re attempting to do.
Remember that GMail is just one service associated with your account. Even
though your account may be associated with a GMail email name, that same
account may be used for many other Google services not related to email.
Also be aware that if you cancel your GMail account, those other Google
services may no longer be able to send you email until you establish a new
email address with them. The same is true, actually, for any service, company
or contact when you delete an email address – they’ll need to know your new one
in order to contact you.
And finally, let’s be clear: there’s no “undo”: once you delete
your email account it’s gone forever and cannot be restored. That includes all
the email messages sent and received and your contacts as well. If there’s
anything you want to keep, be sure to back it up first.