Technology in terms you understand. Sign up for the Confident Computing newsletter for weekly solutions to make your life easier. Click here and get The Ask Leo! Guide to Staying Safe on the Internet — FREE Edition as my thank you for subscribing!

How do I disable the "remember me" feature of Instant Messaging clients?

I run a Cyber Cafe and my customers log into their MSN/Yahoo
Messenger account – sometimes they check in the “save username and password” or
other variations of “remember me”. I need to disable that feature –
how?

One the most common classes of questions I get has to do with people who’ve
lost access to their own accounts because someone else changed their password.
Setting “remember me” on a public computer is a quick way to set yourself up
for having your password changed and your account stolen.

I laud your efforts to help prevent this.

Sadly, the news isn’t all that good.

Become a Patron of Ask Leo! and go ad-free!

I could find no official way in either MSN Instant Messenger, or Yahoo
Instant Messenger to disable this feature. One would think that with the
rampant problems it can cause, there would be a documented way for people in
exactly your position to so.

“I could find no official way … to disable this feature. “

However, I didn’t stop there.

Unfortunately, I could not come up with a way to coerce MSN Instant
Messenger into disabling the feature. Similarly, with Yahoo Instant Messenger, I thought I had a line on a
registry setting that could be tweaked, or perhaps permissions on a registry
setting could be altered to prevent it from being changed, but alas … my
experiments failed.

I’m hopeful that perhaps a reader will report back with a hack I’ve missed,
or perhaps even an officially supported mechanism that I overlooked.

But for now, you’ll have to rely on your clients to “do the right thing” …
which I know you can’t really count on.

Subscribe to Confident Computing! Tech problem solving & safety tips & a weekly confidence boost in your inbox every week.

I'll see you there!

10 Reasons Your Computer is Slow

Slow Computer?

Speed up with my special report: 10 Reasons Your Computer is Slow, now updated for Windows 10.

NOW: name your own price! You decide how much to pay -- and yes, that means you can get this report completely free if you so choose. Get your copy now!

16 comments on “How do I disable the "remember me" feature of Instant Messaging clients?”

  1. For a professional enviroment such as a cyber cafe I can see 2 solutions for your problem. Neither of them are easy, but they are both possible.

    1. Use Gaim, and hire a programmer. Gaim is an Open instant messenger, a hired developer could probably get the functionality you want in 2 to 10 hours. I don’t know if you can settle for its level of compatibility, it doesn’t always handle voice or file transfers correctly, but as a Cybercafe you probably don’t even want other people files on your machines.

    or

    2. Set up your machines to reinstall a fresh image on every reboot, and reboot every logout, and every night. If you have a server, behind the scenes somewhere, it could pass out disk images, to client machines over the network. Booting the machines would take a little longer, in my experience its about 1 to 5 minutes (depending on software), but when I have done it, it was to remove problems such as user settings, virii, user software, and it worked like a charm.

    Leo nice site, first time poster long time reader , I work as a technician for http://www.freetechsupport.us if you ever want to stop by my site sometime I’d love to see some one as knowledable as yourself up at our help forums.

    Reply
  2. Leo,

    Maybe the solution is simpler than we think.

    Firstly, clearing out the username and password cache in Explorer’s autocomplete function ensures that another person’s details don’t creep up unwanted.

    Secondly, I use a programme called HistoryKill, which does just as the name implies. It can be configured to run at every browser shutdown, thus eliminating all cookies, and clearing out the info in the index.dat file.

    This works fine for us at the office (where no servers or admin’s are involved), when we want to check emails, or use Y!Messenger without getting caught 😉

    Reply
  3. There are hardware solutions available, usually deployed in schoolar computer rooms. They are PCI cards, and intercept all write request to the HD, and cache them on another partition. On each boot, the computer will forget the written data and therefore start at the same point. All cookies, history, temporary files etc. will have been gone.

    Reply
  4. Well, if I understood well the question, the awnser is simples: just alter the variables “MSNSignInMRU0X” on the file called com.microsoft.Messenger.plist

    Reply
  5. Howdy… you might want to check out the “Shared Computer Toolkit” from Microsoft. It has profile and drive locking features (tossing out all changes since the admin told it to lock) while still allowing specified system updates (virus scanning data, operating system updates, etc). Much easier to manage than the PCI card drive locking system.

    (In fact, that is why it was developed… as an answer to some issues they had with the Gates Foundation granted machines in schools and libraries. Those machines had PCI drive locks and some OS tweaks.)

    It’s a freebie on their website, and it’s a good product. (Speaking as a full-time *nix guy, that’s a fairly rare thing for me to say. 😉

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sharedaccess/default.mspx

    And if you don’t want a MS product to do this job, maybe you should just go all the way and maybe replace with software from these guys:

    http://www.userful.com

    Another good product, with fully functioning downloadable demos. 🙂 (The multi-headed machine setups they trumpet are very cool, but all of their stuff can be run as traditional stand-alone workstations as well.)

    Cheers!

    Reply
  6. yeah, i’ve gone through you article and all is well and nicce, but i have a problem. and this my problem i know you can solve for me.
    here is the question. what are the relativities of computer with internet. this is what i was searching for when bursted into your articles.
    thanks. please send me the answer thruogh my email.

    Reply
  7. The fix for this is to use control panel, user accounts, then selcet your user name. then under related tasks in the left pane select manage my network passwords. From there remove the offending user account. problem solved.

    Reply
  8. I agree with JM (at February 24, 2006 10:21 AM) about the use of Microsoft Shared Computer Toolkit (called today SteadyState). I didn’t know about it before reading this page, but now i am sure i am going to use it.

    Thanks!!!

    Reply
  9. Please change this easy way of entering people’s
    accounts. Iam finding my emails read and deleted
    Please help end this remember me on this computer
    business

    Reply
  10. Select “delete browsing history on exit” under internet options. This way the not only is the history cleared, the computer will not “remember” the last person logged on regardless of whether or not the “remember me” box was selected. It works. I have my computer set up this way.

    Reply

Leave a reply:

Before commenting please:

  • Read the article.
  • Comment on the article.
  • No personal information.
  • No spam.

Comments violating those rules will be removed. Comments that don't add value will be removed, including off-topic or content-free comments, or comments that look even a little bit like spam. All comments containing links and certain keywords will be moderated before publication.

I want comments to be valuable for everyone, including those who come later and take the time to read.