As I’ve covered in a previous tip, deleted files don’t always go into the Recycle Bin.
The flip side is that sometimes you don’t want a file to go into the Recycle Bin when it normally would. Perhaps you’re cleaning up, and want to selectively and permanently delete some particularly space-consuming files.
In Windows File Explorer, clicking on a file and then typing the Delete key moves the file to the Recycle Bin. Unfortunately, that doesn’t free up the space the file uses; it only moves the file somewhere else.
Instead, hold the SHIFT key down when you type the Delete key. You’ll get a warning, shown above, that you’re about to permanently delete the file.
Once permanently deleted, the disk space previously occupied by the file will be marked as “free” and available for use.