How does a site identify me when I am using a VPN?

//

Today, reading a blog, I clicked on a link that took me to an answer on Quora.com, which is a site that I can’t recall ever visiting although it’s possible that I may have hit it using Stumble Upon or something similar in the past. My CyberGhost VPN was active. I scrolled down to the bottom of the page and there was my name and an invitation to submit further details. How could this be? I’m most concerned. I did not submit any information to this site during this session. How could it have identified me if I was using a VPN?

The fact the you’re using a VPN has almost nothing to do with this. A VPN protects your connection from the prying eyes of people between you and the VPN service, but that’s about it.

A couple of other things are going on here.

Read moreHow does a site identify me when I am using a VPN?

How do I get rid of this annoying Facebook share pop-up?

//
Each time I move my mouse over a link, this Facebook “share thing” jumps up. I hate it. If I wanted to share with the world or another person, I’d send them an email. I want to turn it off. How do I do that?

For what I can tell, this doesn’t sound like a feature that you can turn on or off. I suspect that the website that you’re visiting is displaying the pop-up on purpose.

So let’s talk about that.

Read moreHow do I get rid of this annoying Facebook share pop-up?